Tags

, , , , ,

Usually, a momentous event spawns one of my posts. Tonight? Not so much. Rather, its a burst of sound I feel I must emit, but that no one is around to hear. Thanks dear internet, I think you are serving your purpose. I dunno…I just got back from the biggest damn beer festival in the world (possibly not true, and right now I don’t care to look it up) and honestly, and after making, but not drinking, beer all damn day, I am not exactly feeling like a beer for whatever reason. What am I feeling like? A nice cocktail, a back massage…then sleep. But since I only have the cocktail, that will have to do. And wouldn’t you know it? I was craving a Maiden’s Prayer-which ties into my last post/cocktail post. How about that? Serendipitous indeed! Upon second thought, if this is worthy of the word “serendipitous” then poor me/us…

So if you haven’t read below, I like making gin cocktails and this is a good one. I had an orange and a lemon left in the fridge upon my return, so instead of eating the orange outright, I figure I should mix it into booze! Also, thanks to a 15% off “All Gin” sale in Denver, I picked up some nice, Colorado gin (Leopolds), which offers quite a nice bouquet of citrus and juniper notes-something I thought would accompany lemon and orange juice.

Have these things??

  • 1.5 oz AWESOME Gin
  • 1.5 oz Cointreau
  • 1 oz Lemon juice
  • 1 oz Orange juice
  • Shaker, Juicer

GOOD. Then follow:

  1. Plop all those ingredients into a shaker filled with ice.
  2. Shake it like a polaroid then empty into a CHILLED MARTINI GLASS for classiness.
  3. For ULTIMATE CLASSINESS peel an orange into a twist and slightly braze with a lighter to soften the citrus of the peel.
  4. Get silly.

Then sit in a comfy chair, play Air’s Pocket Symphony, and just drift away.

